Ask Me!: Do you want to win an Oscar?

QUESTION FROM: Mechi
 I love your blog, it really inspires me to keep forward to my dream. Would you like to win an osacar someday?

Hi Mechi,

Thank you – I’m so glad to hear you are inspired, that’s the best news.

You know, I used to absolutely obsess over the Oscar fantasy! The thought of being rewarded for excellence at my craft by a collection of my own peers is a very exciting prospect. HOWEVER! Now that I have been in and around this industry for a fair few years the truth about the entire rewards system has revealed itself to me… and it’s not at ALL what I/we thought it was.

To even be nominated for almost any award in the entertainment industry takes so much more than a person’s talent or ability. It has absolutely everything to do with connections, money, and team (agents, managers, PR, lawyers, etc). It’s more like running for political office than simply being rewarded for talent. But don’t take my word for it, read what Michael Fassbender has to say about the Oscar trail.

It’s an unfortunate discovery I think. But, it is a liberating one.

So, as I sit here today, the thought of winning an Oscar couldn’t be further from my mind. I’m much more obsessed with the work I do and the roles I am lucky enough to get to play. I’m not in this for the fanfare – I’m not interested in fame, celebrity, any of that extraneous nonsense that seems to come with being an actor. I’d much rather be a consistently working actor playing in top-notch projects (and shopping at Duane Reade in obscurity) than winning an Oscar.

Although, I do LOVE to get dolled up. I’d certainly go to an awards ceremony if only for the excuse to wear a massively elaborate dress!

Thanks for asking.

Have a question about acting? Ask Me!

About The NYC Actor

Angela Dee is a professional actress working in Film, Theatre, TV, Commercials and Voiceovers. She currently lives in New York. www.angeladee.com

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Have something to add? Go ahead!