Ask Me!: How to find online auditions?

QUESTION FROM: Maria
Hi, I’m 18 years old and a college student who’s pursuing an acting career. I’ve been doing school plays all my life and now that I’m in college I would like to try something different like filming. I would love to be part of student films and short films etc,. The bad thing is that trying to find auditions is really hard. I’ve tried looking online but I’m always afraid that they’re not legit. I guess I’m coming to you for some sort of advice. Also, I don’t have enough money to afford a head shot which I know is pretty important and that’s another thing I’m stressing.

Hi Maria,

As usual, I recommend signing up for the following sites:

Actors Access, Casting Networks, and Backstage.

You can usually sign up for free and pay per submission if you need to, but ultimately it’s worth paying for the subscription so that you can hit as many castings as possible. One job can cover a whole years subscription, easily.

You will not find work without a headshot.

That is it. Absolutely will not. So, unless you come up with something to represent yourself physically in photographic form, then you may as well just not bother going forward as an actor. There are photographers who charge as little as $100 for pictures and these days you barely even need to print a hard copy as almost everything is done online. So, you can just upload a jpeg for free to your casting sites.

But if that is even too much money then simply get a friend to take a picture of you in good light so that your face can be seen clearly and get a professional headshot as soon as you can. I KNOW you have a ton of selfies floating around on the internet so there is absolutely no excuse these days to not have a headshot – even if that first photo was taken by a friend by your bedroom window.

Do not let the perfect headshot hold you back.

Have a question about acting? Ask Me!

About The NYC Actor

Angela Dee is a professional actress working in Film, Theatre, TV, Commercials and Voiceovers. She currently lives in New York. www.angeladee.com

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Have something to add? Go ahead!

